Goth USEF Equestrian of the Year

By January 15, 2016

Elisabeth Goth pilots Fox’s Grape the Tiger Lily to the World Championships Ladies 5 Gaited. (Photo by Howard Schatzberg)

Capping a milestone year, Elisabeth Goth was awarded the Robert P. Strub Trophy as the 2015 USEF Equestrian of the Year at the USEF Pegasus Awards Dinner on Jan. 15.

Goth, of Lebanon, KY, enjoyed a standout year, starting with wins in the Grand Champion Five-Gaited, Champion Five-Gaited Ladies, and Champion Three-Gaited Amateur (15.2 and Over) classes at the Midwest Charity Horse Show in June. In July, she took home the Grand Champion Five-Gaited title at the Blue Ridge Classic Horse Show. At the Kentucky State Fair World’s Championship Horse Show, Goth earned three titles, including World Champion of Champions Five-Gaited Ladies, World Champion Five-Gaited Ladies Gelding, and World Champion Five-Gaited Ladies Mare, as well as Reserve World Grand Champion Five-Gaited. Her most successful outing was the UPHA/American Royal National Championship, where she won all but one of the five classes in which she competed, including the National Grand Champion Five-Gaited Ladies and National Champion Five-Gaited Ladies Mare divisions. In addition to the C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy, Goth won the 2015 Audrey Pugh Gutridge and UPHA Sallie B. Wheeler Distinguished Service Awards.

She was one of nine equestrians recognized by the USEF for competitive achievements in 2015:

Becky Grand Hart Trophy – Cheryl Van Deusen
Norman K. Dunn Trophy – Martha Rattner
C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy – Elisabeth Goth
Barbara Worth Oakford Trophy – Michael Damianos
Bill Robison Trophy – Misdee Wrigley Miller
Vaughan Smith Trophy – Bill Deeney
William C. Steinkraus Trophy – Laura Graves and McLain Ward
Emerson Burr Trophy – Liza Boyd

In addition, Helena “Lana” DuPont Wright was the winner of the 2015 USEF Jimmy Williams Lifetime Achievement Award, and Cameron Kay honored with the Ruth O’Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy as the 2015 Junior Equestrian of the Year. The following trophies were also bestowed for high achievement in the sport.

EQUUS Foundation Humanitarian Award – Anna Ford of New Vocations Racehorse Adoption Program
Walter B. Devereux Sportsmanship Award – Colleen McQuay
The Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit – W. Gary Baker, Veronica Holt, Lloyd Landkamer, Harry Sebring
Pegasus Medal of Honor – Bill Moroney, Ron Rhodes, Howard Simpson
The Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders Award – Carl T. Fischer, Jr. and Lorick Stables
The Sallie Busch Wheeler Trophy – Howard Simpson


Short URL:

Comments are closed

Photo Gallery

Copyright 2011 The Equestrian News